Back to top

CAUT Bulletin Archives

May 2005

New Committee Takes Shape

The CAUT Executive has created a new committee to advise on issues involving clinical faculty.

The newly-formed group includes representatives of clinical faculty members from 13 of Canada's medical schools and will report on practical issues related to the protection and rights of clinical faculty.

"We are delighted that senior clinical faculty from across the country have agreed to serve on the committee," said CAUT executive director James Turk.

He also said the committee's work will be "essential in helping us follow-up on the recommendations of the Task Force on Academic Freedom for Faculty at University-Affiliated Health Care Institutions."

Members of the committee are Mark Boctor (Saskatchewan), Keith W. Brownell (Calgary), Carol Cass (Alberta), Brenda Gallie (Toronto), Bertha Garcia (Western Ontario), Daniel Guitton (McGill), Gordon Guyatt (McMaster), Alan Jackson (Queen's), Alan Kwan (Memorial), Colin Powell (Dalhousie), Larry Reynolds (Manitoba), Derryck Smith (British Columbia) and Jean Wilkins (Montreal).

The committee will hold its first meeting in Ottawa later this year.