Back to top

CAUT Bulletin Archives

March 2006

New CAUT Group on Aboriginal Education

CAUT has created a special working group on aboriginal post-secondary education. The group will advise CAUT about how it can effectively intervene to help ensure Canada’s post-secondary educational system meets the needs of First Nations and other aboriginal students.

The working group comprises six members: Jo-ann Archibald, associate dean for indigenous education at the University of British Columbia; Concordia University engineering professor Corinne Mount Pleasant-Jetté; David Newhouse, chair of native studies at Trent University; Charlotte Ross, coordinator of academic programs for aboriginal students at the University of Saskatchewan; Blair Stonechild, interim head of indigenous studies at First Nations University of Canada, and Wanda Wuttunee, acting head of native studies at the University of Manitoba.

“We are honoured that such a distinguished team of experts on aboriginal post-secondary education has agreed to assist us in outlining a plan,” said James Turk, CAUT’s executive director.

“CAUT must make access to high-quality and meaningful post-secondary education for Canada’s aboriginal peoples a reality. This group has for too long been overlooked.”

The working group will begin its deliberations in the coming weeks and will provide advice to the CAUT executive and council.