Back to top

CAUT Bulletin Archives

June 2014

NUCAUT reelects George Davison as president

The National Union of the Canadian Association of University Teachers has elected a new slate of leaders for 2014–2017.

George Davison, secretary-treasurer of the Federation of Post-Secon­dary Educators of BC, was reelected president, after serving as NUCAUT president in 2011–2014.

The new vice-president is Terri Van Steinburg, from FPSE and president of the Kwantlen Faculty Association. Steinburg served as member-at-large, west, in 2011–2014. Bill Schipper of Memorial University of Newfoundland Faculty Association takes on the role of treasurer. Leslie Molnar of FPSE is the new member-at-large, west. Suz­anne Dudziak of the Faculty Association of the University of St. Thomas was reelected for a third term as member-at-large, east, as was Brian Brown of the University of Windsor Faculty Association, as member-at-large, central.

Newly elected officials were sworn into office in May, during the 5th triennial national convention of NUCAUT in Montreal.

In 2002, 13 local academic staff associations and federated associations affiliated with CAUT formed a national union to enable post-secondary education issues to be raised on a broader, national stage through full membership in the Canadian Labour Congress. Today NUCAUT consists of 24 associations and the need to make post-secondary education more accessible and affordable is now CLC policy.